India lost the least matches but England won the World Cup

England won their maiden World Cup title (Reuters Photo)

England’s long-held dream has been realized. After beating New Zealand in the final on Sunday, England lifted their maiden men’s World Cup in the 44-year-old history of the tournament. For New Zealand, it was another heartbreak at the summit of the sport after having lost to Australia in the 2015 World Cup final. While New Zealand will certainly feel hard done by the result, the Indian team also has reasons to be disappointed after crashing out in the semi-final at the hands of the Kiwis.

England might be the new world champions but they lost 3 matches during the course of the tournament. India, on the other hand, lost the least number of matches (2) among all teams in the tournament. Here is the complete list of the 10 teams’ wins and losses (wins, losses):

India – 7,2
Australia – 7,3
England – 8,3
New Zealand – 6,4
Pakistan – 5,3
Sri Lanka – 3,4
South Africa – 3,5
Bangladesh – 3,5
West Indies – 2,6
Afghanistan – 0,9

The match went to a super over after scores were tied at the end of England’s chase of 242. England scored 15 off their six balls but New Zealand did well to match them shot for shot by ending up with 15 runs of their own. However, England were declared winners as they had scored more boundaries (in the match including the super over). While New Zealand scored 17 boundaries in total, England were far more superior in the department, having blazed 26 fours and sixes.

Chasing 16 in the Super Over, New Zealand managed 15 but England won because they scored more boundaries in the match and in the Super Over.


What's your reaction?